Home / Functionality

chili-feet heat insoles convert pressure energy into heat when walking. This requires a minimum weight of 48 kg.

Development and mode of operation

After an initial feasibility study, which analyzed different technologies, the technical variant was discovered at the end of 2010 to develop a sole based on a new type of polyurethane material (PUR), which converts pressure into heat when walking.

As a result, several development teams were commissioned in parallel by Wafe Technology GmbH in 2011. A great deal of knowledge was required to optimize the material so that it could convert as much energy as possible (resulting from the pressure when walking) into heat. It was equally important to achieve that the material relaxes again in the rhythm of normal walking to such an extent that heat can be gained again from the pressure during the next step.

After countless trials, a development team delivered convincing results:
In late fall 2011, a prototype sole material was developed that produced a permanent output of over 2 watts - the desired goal had been achieved! Extensive and extremely successful testing was carried out in the winter of 2011/2012.

Impressive temperature rise

Tests in the laboratory show the temperature rise of the 3mm/5mm chili-feet warming soles. After 12 minutes, the sole temperature is 5°/10° C higher compared to the start temperature.

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Tests in the laboratory show the temperature rise of the 3mm/5mm chili-feet warming soles. After 12 minutes, the sole temperature is 5°/10° C higher compared to the starting temperature. Below a video shows such a test:

Flexible and versatile use

The chili-feet warming insoles can be individually cut to size for sizes 35 to 47. They are available in the thicknesses 3mm and 5mm. The 3mm soles are primarily suitable for the transitional seasons (autumn/winter) and the 5mm soles for the cold season at lower temperatures.

Material properties

The heat producing material can be compressed about 1.5 million times. This corresponds approximately to the distance from Zurich to Hamburg and back again. The microfiber surface ensures a pleasant wearing comfort and absorbs any sweat directly. chili-feet are washable at max. 30 degrees.

More information about the function of the chili-feet insole can be found in this factsheet.

Home / Funktionsweise

chili-feet Wärmesohlen wandeln beim Gehen Druckenergie in Wärme um. Dafür wird ein Mindestgewicht von 48 kg benötigt.

Entwicklung und Funktionsweise

Nach einer ersten Machbarkeitsstudie, welche unterschiedliche Technologien analysierte, wurde Ende 2010 die technische Variante entdeckt, um auf Basis eines neuartigen Polyurethan-Materials (PUR) eine Sohle zu entwickeln, die den Druck beim Gehen in Wärme umwandelt.

Infolgedessen wurden 2011 mehrere Entwicklungsteams von der Wafe Technology GmbH parallel mit der Ausarbeitung beauftragt. Grösste Kenntnisse waren Voraussetzung, um das Material soweit zu optimieren, dass es möglichst viel Energie (entstehend aus dem Druck beim Gehen) in Wärme umwandeln konnte. Ebenso wichtig war es zu erreichen, dass sich das Material im Rhythmus des normalen Gehens wieder so weit entspannt, dass beim nächsten Schritt erneut Wärme durch den Druck gewonnen werden kann.

Nach unzähligen Versuchen hat ein Entwicklungsteam überzeugende Resultate geliefert:
Im Spätherbst 2011 konnte ein prototypisches Sohlenmaterial entwickelt werden, das eine permanente Leistung von über 2 Watt erbrachte – das Wunschziel war erreicht! Im Winter 2011/2012 wurde ausgiebig und äusserst erfolgreich getestet.

Beeindruckender Temperaturanstieg

Tests im Labor zeigen den Temperaturanstieg der 3mm/5mm chili-feet Wärmesohlen. Nach 12 Minuten ist die Sohlentemperatur im Vergleich zur Starttemperatur 5°/10° C höher.

 

Tests im Labor zeigen den Temperaturanstieg der 3mm/5mm chili-feet Wärmesohlen. Nach 12 Minuten ist die Sohlentemperatur im Vergleich zur Starttemperatur 5°/10° C höher. Nachfolgend zeigt ein Video einen solchen Versuch:

Flexible und vielseitige Verwendung

Die chili-feet Wärmesohlen sind für die Grössen 35 bis 47 individuell zuschneidbar. Sie sind erhältlich in die Dicken 3mm und 5mm. Die 3mm Sohlen eignen sich primär für die Übergangszeiten (Herbst/Winter) und die 5mm Sohlen für die kalte Jahreszeit bei tieferen Temperaturen.

Materialeigenschaften

Das wärmeproduzierende Material kann etwa 1.5 Mio. Mal zusammengedrückt werden. Dies Entspricht etwa dem Weg von Zürich nach Hamburg und wieder zurück. Die Mikrofaseroberfläche sorgt für einen angenehmen Tragekomfort und saugt allfälligen Schweiß direkt auf. chili-feet sind bei max. 30 Grad waschbar.

Mehr Informationen zur Funktionsweise der chili-feet Wärmesohle, finden sie in diesem Factsheet.